Make-up Reviews

The importance of correctly highlighting for your skin tone.

Recently, I started noticing that the skin of my cheek bones was looking a little powdery and I thought oops.. Need to chill on the highlighter.

After I noticed the same problem a few more times, bearing in mind I had taken a chill pill on the highlight, one of my best friends visited me at work and commented on it. I knew at this point that it wasn’t just me scrutinising myself; but using the same product, my brow bone, the bridge of my nose and my Cupid’s bow weren’t powdery. Just my cheekbones.. 

Whatever the reason, I knew I had to change something. The problem with make-up application is you have about ten layers of different product on your face to create the end result. Primer, concealer, foundation, contour, bronzer, highlight, setting spray… Which one was causing it? 

Turns out, pretty simply, it was the highlighter. I identified this by (begrudgingly) opting to remove highlight from my cheekbones for a day. No powdery look. 

So I’ve changed highlight, but the last thing I want people to think is that my previous product is a bad product. It’s not; it just is for me. Everyone is different.

The reason why I am sharing this with you today is to educate my fellow girls (and guys) on the tremendous difference the correct highlighter can make to your appearance, and in more detail; which shade you should go for.

Now as you may be aware, as I’ve said a thousand times, I am Ukrainian and therefore as white as a crisp white sheet straight out of a Vanish wash. Due to this, I’ve always naturally opted for a lighter highlight, I’m not sure why, but I just assumed it was the right thing to do. I was wrong. Pale people can have a summer glow too, y’know!

Here is a selfie of me (obviously), wearing my previous highlight; Urban Decay in the shade ‘Sin’ – this costs £19.00.


As you can see, it’s a very light shade. It looks nice but overall, I look very, very white. Now that’s great, if you want to look very, very white. 


This is a selfie I took today wearing my new Illamasqua Beyond Powder highlight in ‘Epic‘ – this costs £32.00.


As you can tell, I look a lot more sun kissed. I didn’t even realise how washed out I looked before, until I switched to this. I love it. I feel like I actually look healthier and I feel much better about myself.


Moral of the story: don’t be afraid to switch up on your usual routine, you could look tonnes better. If you’re confused about picking a highlight shade for your appearance, try to take into consideration your skin tone, hair colour and brow colour. If you need anymore help, either message me or visit a beauty counter for some professional advice.

What do I have on my face today?

• Nars pore perfecting primer

• Illamasqua Skin Base foundation (using a beauty blender)

• Urban Decay naked concealer

• NYX contour palette 

• Smashbox bronzer

• Illamasqua highligher 

• Urban Decay highligher (brow bone)

• Urban Decay brow colour 

• NYX brow set

• NYX setting spray 

• Illamasqua Masquara mascara

• Kiko Milan eyelid base colour 

• Victoria Secret lip plump

• Urban Decay lip liner

Elle x

Leave a Reply

