Make-up Reviews, Skincare reviews

Illamasqua Masquara, the cruelty-free answer to lush lashes.

As of late I’ve been on a dedicated hunt for a new mascara. The one I was using, don’t get me wrong, is an amazing product. If you’ve been keeping up to date with my blog, you’ll know of my refusal to use any products that have had any involvement with animal testing. Unfortunately, my fabulous mascara was one of these items, amongst pretty much everything else in my make-up bag.

So if you’re on the same page, I’ll make it super easy for you. Illamasqua ‘Masquara’ in Raven Black (£18.00)


To be blunt, the mascara I was formerly religiously using is the best selling mascara in the world and has been for a long time, so I knew replacing it was going to be a serious task. Fortunately, I found a pretty ace one, pretty quick. 

* I do apologise, but I refuse to share with you which previous mascara I used, as I don’t promote products of which have been involved with any cruelty towards animals. * 

At first, I tried Urban Decay ‘Perversion’ (£17.50), but I found the brush to be too big for my eye – and my eyes aren’t particularly small – which made it hard to apply the product without getting it on my lids as well. That’s just irritating. Especially when you have done your actual eye make-up. Nobody enjoys that tactical cotton bud try-not-to-ruin-everything manoeuvre, do they? 

I also found this product to be extremely wet. Due to this, every single time I applied it, my lashes clumped together. It’s almost like there’s no catch on the neck of the tube to give the brush that slight shave of product as you pull it out. I literally couldn’t hate anything more than clumpy lashes. I knew I had to make a change, and quick. 

I did what any cosmetic obsessed mid-anxiety-attack young lady would do; I marched myself directly to a high end brand of which I hold a level of trust with. I went to Illamasqua and requested their cleverly named Masquara. 

I’m very happy with this mascara. Although not as lengthy as my previous mascara; my lashes are dark, separated and luscious. This mascara, or ‘masquara’, also semi permanently dyes your lashes darker over time. How cool is that? 

Over the last few days, I’ve been super tired, rushed off my feet and stressed about the lack of time I have to myself and to get organised for Milan in 3 days. Due to this, my facial pamper time in the morning has been cut in half. I’ve rarely applied my full eye make-up, but rather settled for mascara alone. And I’ve had so many compliments. 

If you’re into the ‘natural look’, give my previous post (Illamasqua & Nars; why they go hand in hand) a read & pair that knowledge with this post. I’ve never looked so natural in my life; and I’m loving it.. Besides the 3.5ml of lip filler, of course. 


Elle x

Leave a Reply

